iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Curved skew

Started by jueston, January 24, 2013, 10:54:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jueston

http://www.woodturnerscatalog.com/p/7/2/33/136/-/5575/Hamlet-M2-HSS-Alan-Lacer-Skew-Chisel

Does anyone here own/use a curved skew like the one in the link, I have not been turning long but am trying to devote more time to the lathe to get better at it, I have a horrible set of tools which I would like to replace with better tools one at a time, starting with either a good skew or a good gouge. While looking at skews I found this one at rockler and it interested me. I think the curved blade might make it a little easier to keep just the right angle on the skew, which is something that I have some problems with, I tend to catch the point and destroy what I am working on A LOT.

If you don't have any experience with this kind of skew I would be glad to hear anyones advice on what turning tools they do think I should look into, I am a beginner but I want really high quality tools. so if you only had one really good tool for the lathe, what would it be?

Thanks

Jemclimber

A skew wouldn't be my first choice of tools to master.  :o  It sounds like you are doing spindle work. If so,  I would recommend a quality spindle gouge or a detail gouge or both. Both can produce a smooth finish by "riding the bevel" and are much easier to master without catches than the skew.   I really like Thompson tools.
lt15

Dodgy Loner

I agree, a gouge is a much more versatile tool than a skew. My most used tool, believe it or not, is a large roughinh gouge. It can be user for fine cuts if you know what you're doing. From what I can tell, a skew with a curved edge is pretty much the standard these days. You don't have to pay that much for a curved skew, just buy a straight one (HSS, of course) and grind it yourself.