iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

"Low-Impact Forestry" by Mitch Lanksy

Started by BrandonTN, February 22, 2007, 10:59:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BrandonTN

Anyone read this book?

"....Logging machinery has gotten bigger and more powerful and is more productive at removing wood fast.  But these machines can leave a big footprint in the woods. The cost of the machinery is so high that it forces loggers to cut huge quantities of wood just to pay expenses. Those loggers who take more time to be more careful are often penalized, rather than rewarded. It takes more and more forest to support fewer and fewer jobs. Such a system hurts botht eh forest and local communities over the long run."

--an excerpt from the Introduction.
Ive had this book for over almost 2 years, and havent gotten around to reading it....mostly because its so technical, and Im still learning the names for things.
Forester, Nantahala National Forest

jim king

I live in that book and appreciate your dilema.  Read my thread above in Forestry and Logging   under "logging methods" .

slowzuki

There are two issues at hand, everything I have read indicates the largest logging equipment actually has the least impact per acre lets say doing clearcutting.  The ground pressure is low, big reach on the machines etc.

Now one of those machines has to clearcut an awful lot of acres to pay for itself and its operator so in the end I'd say the total impact is higher.

I'm a big fan of small scale forestry simply because the large machines divert so much money away from communities.  They replace people with the parts truck and those parts are increasingly coming from far, far away.