iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Brand New Poulan Pro 18 takes off at start

Started by Boycedemery, February 01, 2017, 08:00:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Boycedemery

I have a Brand New Poulan pro 18in 42cc chainsaw and I just got it yesterday. I fired it up and it takes off after it's started. I tried adjusting the idler screw and the low end screw but nothing seems to work. Is the saw getting too much fuel? Should I lean it out or richen it up? I'm new to this so any kinds of help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Woodcutter_Mo

Is just idling somewhat high or is it actually like the throttle is pushed and reving high? As far as mixture goes, the low mixture screw might be too lean. Also pull the top cover and look at the carb and throttle mechanism, make sure everything is moving and returning like it should. If it has the high idle on the choke assemble, make sure it's snapping back once the throttle is actuated. And make sure the throttle lever is touching the idle speed screw when the throttle is released.
There are several videos on YouTube showing and explaining how to properly adjust the mixture screws, you might check those out.

Hopefully that helps, hopefully someone with experience with poulan saws will be able to help you further. Good luck

-WoodMizer LT25
-592XP full wrap, 372XP, 550XP, 455 Rancher, RedMax GZ3500T
-Fixer-uppers/projects:
024AV, MS260, MS361, MS460, Shindaiwa 488, 394XPG

DelawhereJoe

You shouldn't have to mess with a new out of the box saw like that, if its causing problems already just take it back to the store explain the issue and get a new saw.
WD-40, DUCT TAPE, 024, 026, 362c-m, 041, homelite xl, JD 2510

ladylake

Are you getting it off fast idle, you have to pull and release the throttle to do that after it starts..  Steve