iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Pics of your favorite style backstops/clamps?

Started by Verticaltrx, March 08, 2015, 03:03:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Verticaltrx

I'm getting ready to build a new trailer and bed for my mill so I'm trying to figure the best style clamps and backstops to use. I want something good and solid for backstops that will remain square under pressure. I already have some cam style clamps but thinking of adding a couple screw style clamps along the bed as well, just for different options.

Is one clamp in the center of the bed enough, or do most people like multiple clamps? Also, what spacing do most people like for backstops? I was thinking a couple close like 4' apart near the center of the bed, then a couple more at 8-10' apart, maybe two more at 14' apart? (my bed will be 20' long for a 16'6" cut length)

Pics, thoughts, opinions would be great. 

Thanks in advance.
Wood-Mizer LT15G19

Robert Owens

I'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, but when I ordered my Cooks mill I ordered a third arm and clamp spaced two feet from the other (2 are 8 feet apart) so if/ when I want to clamp and cut short logs/ crotch sections I have the ability to still have two clamps holding the log. So I would suggest at least three backstop/ clamps.

Larry

Two choices on motion for the back stops.  Either straight up and down or a rotation.  Straight up and down can catch and rotate a log before it gets to a cant.  Rotating style can both rotate and move a log.  I like the straight up and down but have only sawed a little on a mill with the rotating style.

Size matters when turning a big log, large cant, or a group of cants.  Longer is better.

My mill came with three four back stops but for my normal length of log the third fourth one was in the way so I removed it.  I like the two three remaining back stops about 5' apart so I can handle short logs.