iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

FINALLY! Some progress with the new shop.

Started by DR Buck, January 18, 2018, 09:01:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DR Buck

Quote from: flatrock58 on February 01, 2018, 09:51:00 PM
Nice shop.  I have been working on mine for about 18 months and finally got power last month.  It is amazing how long it takes one person to build a shop with grand kids and all the other stuff going on in life! 
I like the mini-split.  Was it shipped with the Freon in it?  I might have to look into that.

The mini split was designed for DIY.  The lines are connected on one end and pre-charged with R410.   Just mount the units and screw on the line set.
Been there, done that.   Never got caught [/b]
Retired and not doing much anymore and still not getting caught

DR Buck

Quote from: Larry on February 01, 2018, 07:39:45 PM
...... The trick is getting a good airtight seal on the ends of the panel where they meet the wall. 

Air tight will not be an issue.   The ceiling is already air tight.   5 1/2" thick closed cell foam panels cut and placed between roof trusses.  Then all the seams and edges were sealed with pro-spray foam to completely insulate with no air intrusion or heat loss.

DR Buck

Yesterday and today in addition to unpacking boxes I decided to try and clean up the rusted top on my table saw and jointer.   I didn't take any before pictures of the table saw because it's a vision I'd like to forget.   It's a thousand times better, but it will never again look like it did before the rust.   There are some stains that just wouldn't come out.   :'(    After cleaning the top I reassembled everything and made all of the necessary adjustments.   Maybe tomorrow I'll get power to it's location. 

After finishing the table saw I tackled the jointer.    I did take some "before" pictures.

These are the "after" pictures

I still need to do rust removal on the drill press, jig saw, and mortiser.    They're all a lot smaller and shouldn't take too long.