iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Stretching

Started by woodbowl, May 17, 2006, 12:48:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

woodbowl

How many people do you know that take a little time to stretch the ole' body a bit? I honestly didn't realize just how benificial it is especially for this abused, wood sawing body of mine. I may not have discovered the fountain of youth, but in the past few years I've hit on a gold mine for me  and it sure feels good. I don't get real fancy or anything, I mainly just relax and let my muscles pull to the point of the mild sting and hold it for 20 or 30 seconds. Going beyond that has always ended up with me being sore the next day. I've tried a few yoga poses and it seems to find muscles I didn't know I had, but I can't get into that weired mental stuff.

I've been paying attention to my body a lot more since I hurt my back a few years ago and I've found that if I can stay reasonably stretched out, I will sleep better, feel good all day, I don't hurt or ach near as much, I'm in a better mood, have more energy, more alert, I sit and walk straighter, I get more work done in a day and am less tired, I've lost a little unwanted weight, it releases tension and stress .... I could go on and on.

I'm learning more and more about it even now. I felt icky a few years ago, the day after a too hard of a stretch and was surprised to learn that stretching releases toxins from the body and my blood was carrying too much of it at one time for me to be able to feel good that day.

I plan to limber on up slowly as I age and get some of the other benifits that I keep reading about. I'm wearing out and I can't run from it, but maybe I can keep some of what I've got for a little while longer.
Full time custom sawing at the customers site since 1995.  WoodMizer LT40 Super Hyd.

thecfarm