iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Edger & resaw ?s

Started by valley, October 06, 2012, 10:24:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

valley

I have been doing search after search on these additions to my mill I have a wood master 18 " plainer with log siding blades ecc bar and two blades for it. We seem to cut a good bit of siding I am really just wandering what owners of these two machines think of increased productivity ? If you just had one which one ? We have basically been doing edging and siding with the b-20 my future plans are to get away from the siding and home building products and focus more on supplying hard wood to cabinet shops also am soon going to be adding a kiln to operation really have not found mill nitch yet so not sure which direction were going 10 months in and stay pretty busy with it basically everything we have done is cypress cedar or hardwood the only pine I've cut is for myself I can't see competing with lumber yards on framing stuff any info greatly appreciated
Have a great day unless you have other plans !!!

customsawyer

If your looking for increase in production my advice would be a edger. You might want to check with the cabinet shops and see what they are paying now and see if you can match it. The ones around here buy most of there stuff from the big mills and it is about like competing with the lumber yards on framing lumber. 
Two LT70s, Nyle L200 kiln, 4 head Pinheiro planer, 30" double surface Cantek planer, Lucas dedicated slabber, Slabmizer, and enough rolling stock and chainsaws to keep it all running.
www.thecustomsawyer.com

Ron Wenrich

It seems like you're still trying to write your business plan.  Its hard to say where you should be trying to expand your production until you decide what niche you want to fill.  It seems that you have written off the framing lumber end.  Its really hard to compete with high production mills.