iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Jobs In Forestry

Started by Ttrees, September 20, 2018, 10:37:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ttrees

Hi, I'm in high school and I'm starting to think about what I want to do for a living and was thinking about forestry. I've grown up in the woods and my grandfather was a forester as well. My only reservation is the jobs available. I was just wondering if anyone knew what the job market is like for forestry graduates right now, and if it's worth it to spend the money to get a degree in forestry or wood science?

Southside

Welcome to the Forum Ttrees.  There are a good many foresters on here that can provide you with plenty of information.  I am going to tag a couple here just to get their attention anmd help with getting more eyes on your post.  @WDH @Wudman @SwampDonkey 
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder
Enough cows to ensure there is no spare time.
White Oak Meadows

Wudman

On our end of the business it is a pretty good time for young foresters looking for jobs.  I'm in land management for one of the TIMOs.  My colleagues are getting a bit long in the tooth.  I'm one of the younger guys at 51.  A large percentage of our foresters are over 60 years old and will be looking to retire in the next few years.  We have had a difficult time attracting qualified candidates to fill our open positions.