iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Does porting the muffler put excess wear on the saw?

Started by George Zarifis, July 15, 2015, 11:04:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

George Zarifis

I'm thinking about porting the muffler on my chainsaw but I'm worried that this may decrease the life of the saw by putting excess wear on it. Is this true? Is it worth doing, especially since I'm an amateur user and the extra power is not something I absolutely need?
Every man's proble can be solved with a chansaw and high explosives. And a gun. And maybe a screwdriver. A cordless drill wouldn't hurt either.

I think a truck full of tools will do...

celliott

Muffler modifications result in a little more power, better throttle response and a cooler running chainsaw. These advantages come at the cost of increased fuel consumption, and noise and possible violation of your saws warranty, if still applicable. The fuel consumption is minor IMO, but the noise is something some people just don't like. Once you start making holes in the muffler, you can't put them back. If you don't like it you'll be buying a new muffler. I'm young, I don't mind loud  ;D But I still always wear ear protection. If where you live requires spark arrestors, that is something to take into consideration as well.

With any modification to the muffler, the carburetor will need to be re-tuned. The H jet will likely need to be adjusted beyond factory limiters, so you will need to defeat the limiters on the carb as well (unless this is an autotune or Mtronic saw) This is critical as your saw could potentially be running to lean and burn itself up. So yes, I suppose if you did not retune your carburetor, a muffler mod definitely would put excess wear on the saw. Otherwise, I would say not.

What saw is in question?

Welcome to the forum  :)
Chris Elliott

Clark 666C cable skidder
Husqvarna and Jonsered pro saws
265rx clearing saw
Professional maple tubing installer and maple sugaring worker, part time logger