iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

new solar kiln

Started by MattJ, June 24, 2014, 04:03:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MattJ

OK, so I waited to post anything on this project until it was essentially done since it seems nothing is more controversial here than solar kiln designs and I'm not very good at receiving mid-project feedback, just ask my wife!

Here is my attempt at a personal solar kiln with the following goals:

- Can dry ~300bf at a time - we'll see how it works
- Can be moved by 2 people if needed - accomplished
- Costs under $500 - just made it under this with paint
- Most importantly, doesn't get veto'd by my wife as it sits in my backyard in the neighborhood! - so far so good although she said the color I picked looks like gulf war surplus.

I made this from Foamular and pine for the top.  The top can lift off or tilt back and weighs 80-100lbs total.  The heat collector is galvanized roofing painted black and it hinged in the back, and also bends down to lay on the stack and perform the function of the baffle.

The bottom is insulated via a layer of foamular on top and is pressure treated pine and ply.  The length is 10' to handle the lumber I saw to 9'.  The fan is solar powered by a 30W panel.

My goal was to finish drying lumber already air dried for at least a few months.  I only get 1/2 day sun in my yard so it will be slow but steady, and is also the reason I just started with one large fan.  The back vents are adjustable top and bottom.  I don't like the tilt way of loading it right now so I will likely add a side door fairly soon for when I need to load it myself.

I just got it finished before I had to travel for work so I'll load it sometime when I get back.  In the full sun it seemed to heat up quick and the fan was really pushing some air.  We'll see how it performs.

Thanks for looking

Matt

GeneWengert-WoodDoc