iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Let's Talk Stacking!!!

Started by Piston, August 11, 2011, 10:00:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Piston

Stacking our firewood early is obviously very important.  Stacking it efficiently so that it dries out as best as possible is also very important. 
I'm not new to woodburning, but I AM new to burning wood efficiently.  When I was a kid my dad would simply cut down some trees throughout the summer, and drag them to the wood cutting 'station' in the yard.  He would buck and split them in late fall, and even through winter, and throw them in the old VC Defiant.  It seemed to burn it all, and it burnt it well, but I never realized how inefficient it was to burn that wood. 

Since I'm still learning about burning wood efficiently, I would like some tips and pointers on the best ways to stack your firewood. 

The few things I've learned so far:  (assuming you have the space)

Stack wood in a single row if space allows-This allows better airflow all around the ends of the wood, where a lot of the drying process happens.

Stack wood so the face of the stack is facing N/S.  By stacking so the ends of the splits are facing to the South (and of course North on the other side for you navigators out there  ;D) It allows the sun to beat on wood, drying it out quicker. 

Stack wood in an open area.  This allows the winds to freely ventilate the stack, and allows the longest amounts of daily sunshine to warm (dry) the stack of wood. 

Stack wood off the ground.  By stacking off the ground, the wood won't pull in the moisture from the ground.  I intend to stack my wood on free pallets that I get from my local lumberyard. 

Absolutely, positively, under no circumstances, would you ever, ever....EVER...cover the sides and top of the stack of firewood.  This would be the best way to NOT dry your firewood! 

That's about all I know  ;D

Could you guys add some tips and tricks to efficient drying?