iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Looking for ideas for creating out door furiture

Started by Blue Sky, October 04, 2012, 09:27:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Blue Sky

I want to start producing unique furniture from all the weird wood I have been millung over the years.  I have some experience building structures to live in, just little expertise with furniture.  Species I have are Spaulted sugar Maple, lots of black locust, cherry.  Lots of interesting wiggles.  What kinds of tools would be helpful?

WDH

Member PostonLT40HD makes some awesome benches.  Do a search on benches and look for some of his work. 
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

Ianab

For outdoor furniture the Black Locust is the wood to use.

The spalted maple has already started to decay, let that get wet and it's going to continue, rapidly. Cherry will last a little while, but isn't really considered a "durable" wood.

As for tools, depends what you want to make. For something like these:  https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php/topic,60896.0.html
A lunchbox planer, a jigsaw, a sander and and drill / driver would get you started.

After that the skies the limit really. Routers come in really handy, and there are all sorts of jigs you can build to make them more useful. A bandsaw and/or table saw is certainly handy.

But which is more useful depends on what you are actually intending to build.

Ian
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

Planman1954

Blue Sky:
One of the most important statements I remember from my college industrial arts days is the quote: "Don't buy a tool until you need it."