iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Best saw blade for white oak

Started by Buz saw, March 07, 2022, 05:40:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Buz saw

Hi I am new at saw milling bought a mill last year to saw some logs I took down a year ago.  The logs I have are red and white oak when I saw the red The boards come out strait and cut fast. When I saw the white it is slow and the boards get a hump in them at the start.The blades I have came with the saw they are 156x1.25x.035 not sure what they are made to cut . Looking for some suggestions on what kind of blade I should get I looked at some on line but don't know what I am looking at. Thanks

kelLOGg

Make sure your blade tension is correct. There is a lot on the FF about that. 
Cook's MP-32, 20HP, 20' (modified w/ power feed, up/down, loader/turner)
DH kiln, CatClaw setter and sharpener, tandem trailer, log arch, tractor, thumb tacks

Southside

What is the hook angle of your bands and what saw / HP are you using?
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder
Enough cows to ensure there is no spare time.
White Oak Meadows

SawyerTed

You don't mention the hook angle of the tooth face on your blades, nor sawmill make and hp. All of those make a difference. I've cut many thousands of board feet of white oak, 4° blades are what I use. Turbo 7° (7/39)  bands will work as well.
Woodmizer LT50, WM BMS 250, WM BMT 250, Kubota MX5100, IH McCormick Farmall 140, Husqvarna 372XP, Husqvarna 455 Rancher

WDH

Whenever I have got that hump on entry, it has been outboard blade guide out of adjustment. 
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

rusticretreater