iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Hello from Arkansas

Started by Ratwagen, December 23, 2017, 06:34:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ratwagen

Hello folks, im a newbie to your forum and am starting to build my own bandsaw mill after pricing the lumber cost for a barn i am building. as of now it is mainly in the design stage(using google sketch up), except for a bit of metal that i bought new from a local steel place here in western arkansas. I would love any advice that anyone has to offer and i am full of questions after looking at pictures and watching videos on youtube. My primary design comes from watching a youtube video of user BrotherBCoy. i am using 2 1/2" 3/16 wall tube and 3" 3/16 wall for the carriage along with some 1" x 1" angle 1/4" thick. and some 3/8" steel plate.

question 1: Can your toe adjustment and tension adjument be on the same side of the mill?

question 2: When running trailer tires for band wheels is a 4.80 x 12 suffient enough for a hobby mill?

question 3: Is there a way i can post what i have designed from sketchup for others to critique?

im sure i will have more questions once i start putting an arc to steel and truly building something. Thanks for having me on the forum guys ........ A.j.   

Lawg Dawg

Welcome to the forestry forum. ..dig your heels in,  you'll find everything you need to know here
2018  LT 40 Wide 999cc, 2019 t595 Bobcat track loader,
John Deere 4000, 2016 F150, Husky 268, 394xp, Shindiawa 591, 2 Railroad jacks, and a comealong. Woodmaster Planer, and a Skilsaw, bunch of Phillips head screwdrivers, and a pair of pliers!

100,000 bf club member
Pro Sawyer Network

Kbeitz

question 1 .... Yes
question 2 ... Bigger's  better. Small diameter will brake bands.
question 3 ... Yes
question 4 ... I'm sure you got more...

My mill build link...

https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php/topic,82853.0.html

Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

Ratwagen