iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

first post

Started by dirtmover1250, March 29, 2015, 04:29:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dirtmover1250

Hello all. Nice forum here. I work in the earth moving industry and havnt spent much time on a chainsaw, but from what ive seen from land clearing professionals and other earthwork contractors, they all have Stihls.

4 months ago i bought my first one. Its an MS180C with a 16" bar. Living in a neighborhood with mature trees, i feel much better having it around for storm damage. Recently i got to run my saw on an abandoned railroad corridor making way for a bike path. After a week of use for about 3 hours a day id say im very happy with the saw. Most of the trees were 2 to 8". I had one dead leaner that was about 15". It had no problem plunging through the tree.

for my next saw im thinking about getting the MS441 with a 24" and 32" bar. since i seek to become self employed, i want a serious saw to drop trees before a construction project. I figure between the 180C and the 441 i can do quite a bit. Any input would be appreciated.
Stihl MS180C, 16" bar
Stihl MS362CM, 20" bar

sandsawmill14

welcome to the forum  :) I have a 441 magnum with those bars its ok with the 32" but great with the 24"
hudson 228, lucky knuckleboom,stihl 038 064 441 magnum

pabst79

Welcome to FF, the only issue that I can see with your plan is, you're probably going to want a 50cc saw too  :D, can never have enough!  8)
Not sure which came first, but I have chickens and eggs.

JohnG28

Welcome to the forum. I'd imagine you'll really like the 441 if you're happy with the 180! Big step up in every aspect. Enjoy saw shopping!  :)
Stihl MS361, 460 & 200T, Jonsered 490, Jonsereds 90, Husky 350 & 142, Homelite XL and Super XL

dirtmover1250