iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Smoker Question / Where's Raider Bill?....UPDATE!!!! 4-15-15

Started by POSTON WIDEHEAD, November 15, 2014, 04:11:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

POSTON WIDEHEAD

I have a Masterbuilt Smoker. It sets under the porch of my Man Cave building.
The temp got down to about 33° last night. Well, so what?  :D

I had 2 racks of ribs I wanted to smoke today. I put them in the smoker at 11am......the outside temp was 40°.

I went back to check on the ribs about an hour later and the smoker temp was only a 45°.......I could not get it any hotter.
Finally took the Ribs out and cooked them in the oven.
Is this normal for a Smoker NOT to heat up in cold weather? I'm gonna start Googling this to see what's going on.
The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

POSTON WIDEHEAD

red oaks lumber

goat
45 deg. is not cold. :) you just need to feed the beast to get it and keep it hot. :D
the experts think i do things wrong
over 18 million b.f. processed and 7341 happy customers i disagree

drobertson

I don't know anything about those fancy smokers, but can testify to the fact cold weather smoking is a chore. Last Feb or so we did a Brisket, snow on the ground, long time on the smoker, it ended up in the oven too.  We did get a good smoke ring just took forever,
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

POSTON WIDEHEAD

Quote from: red oaks lumber on November 15, 2014, 05:57:22 PM
goat
45 deg. is not cold. :) you just need to feed the beast to get it and keep it hot. :D

Its electric.  ::)

Magicman

Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People