iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

STANDARDIZE CHAINS

Started by KDE5555, November 27, 2018, 03:06:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

KDE5555

Hi All,

New member from Oz here ..

I've bought a small farm and intend moving to it next Easter.
In the meantime I'm getting my gear together to be able to clear a few trees and to cut firewood for home heating.
(which is about 10 months of the year).
I have a Husky 435 which I intend to sell, and also have a few Stihl's.
My intention is to standardize the Bars & Chain on the Stihl's so that I can setup for making my own chain from rolls.

As I'm a newbie, I'd like some input to whether I'm headed in the right direction.
After selling the Husky, and an old McCulloch, I'll be left with the following Stihl chainsaws:
MS260C
MS361
MS362
HT101

Except for the HT101, I'd like to go with all 3/8 .063 Bar and Chains using Semi-Chisel (mainly cutting Hardwood)

I was thinking 024 - 16", 260C - 18", 361 - 20", & 362 - 24"

What do the Forum members think?, should I be looking at a different path?
Also, will sprockets need changing on the 024/260?

Thanks,

Keith

mike_belben

Id suggest a full chisel cutter.  
Praise The Lord

KDE5555

Hi Mike,

Thanks for the reply ..

I was told over here that the Full Chisel is for Softwoods, and that Hardwoods use Semi Chisel?

All new to me so, open to all views ..

How are my Bar sizes and thought of sticking to a standard chain?

Keith

teakwood

I would stay with semi chisel, he is not in production and the semi holds their edge way longer than full chisel. The 260 can be used with 3/8 chain but you will need to change the sprocket. the 024 i don't know, others will chime in

As for making your own loops, from what i read in the FF it's not cheaper unless you go thru alot of loops a year, like a production faller. Cutting firewood i don't think you will need more than 10 loops a year 
National Stihl Timbersports Champion Costa Rica 2018

DelawhereJoe