iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Spruce

Started by brendonv, May 05, 2009, 05:59:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

brendonv

A little introduction here.

My name is Brendon, I am an arborist/ tree care business owner from CT.  I have recently fell in love with timber framing, and still have alot to read/ learn. 

I have loads of Spruce my company has to remove from a property, and I'm thinking it might be a good place to start and try to make a small (8x8) timber framed shed from the spoils.

Is Spruce usable?  I've read it twists when it dries, any other problems?  It's going to be my first project, so I'm sure I'll make mistakes and what not.
"Trees live a secret life only revealed to those that climb them"

www.VorioTree.com

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Vorio-Tree-Experts-LLC/598083593556636

Jim_Rogers

Brendon:
Welcome to the forum, keep asking questions.....

Cut the frame green, and assemble as fast as you can to prevent the timbers from twisting....

Jim Rogers
Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Woodmizer 1994 LT30HDG24 with 6' Bed Extension

brendonv

Thanks alot.

Tools, I need tools.  I'm thinking start with the minimum.  I do have a gas drill already.  Bits, chisels, planes, open to all suggestions on what to buy, and where to buy.

Noticed you had some for sale....
"Trees live a secret life only revealed to those that climb them"

www.VorioTree.com

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Vorio-Tree-Experts-LLC/598083593556636

Rooster

I haven't cut a "green" spruce frame, but  I do like to use rough-sawn spruce as vertical barn/shed siding.  It is porous enough to take all kinds of stains, primers/paint.