iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Advice on sawmill design

Started by Jrpitdog, November 08, 2017, 10:05:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jrpitdog

I have been lurking for a while. I have plans to build a cabin a few years from now, probably a tf. Before that happens I want to build a sawmill. Some brief background on me. When I was 14 I started working for my brother inlaw and his father building sawmills, I was a parts fabricator first, then onto assembly. I have over 15 years of steel fab experience and am currently a millwright for a dim lumber mill. I work with saws, hydraulics, motors, chains, sprockets, sheaves and bearings every day. I dont have to many concerns about my ability to build a usable sawmill. My question to the forum is what design features are important to you on a mill. Im talking smaller mill not high production. For those that have built one what would you do differently/same? What features do you wish small mills had? The thing is I have experience fabricating but little experience sawing. So I want to hear from actual sawyers about what works and whats cumbersome or doesnt work. I will be cutting primarily lodgepole.

ChugiakTinkerer

Welcome to the forum!

I'm a hobby miller still working on my first mbf.  Even without hydraulics or motorized advance, I can think of a few improvements to my mill that probably wouldn't be hard to implement if designed for from the beginning.  The first is sawdust management.  You're going to create a lot of sawdust, and I suspect with a little forethought and creativity one could devise a means to route and control the dust much better than what my mill does.  Another feature that is lacking on my mill but is common on more expensive mills is a single control to engage the throttle and the lubricant valve.  As it is I have to remember to turn the valve on before beginning a cut and turn it off after.  My memory is not the most reliable system.  ::)