iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Loggers and climbing

Started by Kevin, August 17, 2001, 03:03:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kevin

I just received my Baileys catalog and there`s a guy climbing what appears to be a Giant Redwood.
My question is ...why are loggers climbing these trees today when these trees can be felled and limbed safely from the ground?
Is this still a common practice?

Tom

How do you fell a big tree like that without topping it first?

Kevin

What`s the reason for topping it Tom?
Will the tree split  if allowed to fall as is?

Tom

I'm no expert but topping helps to keep the tree from splintering when it hits the ground, is used for a bed for the tree to fall on, coming off first helps to keep the trunk from hanging up.  I guess I have just always heard of those big big trees being topped.  That's a long way for one to fall.

Kevin

This guy is really going to be ticked when he gets to the top and reaches for his chainsaw! ;D

Don P

Man, most of what I saw would hide in the furrows on that thing! :D

Tom

Holy Moly what a tree!

How long do you reckon your spurs have to be to climb bark like that?

timberbeast

With trees of that size,  they usually cut them in sections and winch them to the ground.  Saves a lot of broken timber and such.  Sure isn't a job I want!!  I get nervous on a stepladder!!  Hell,  that picture probably has a couple thou bf in it!
Where the heck is my axe???

CHARLIE

It's amazing the different conclusions people come up with when they see a picture. I don't see a logger climbing a tree. I think the picture is a warning to other loggers not to take too long for lunch. This guy obviously was late coming back from lunch and his co-workers tied him to a tree as punishment. But then he could be a tree hugger too. :D :D :D :D
Charlie
"Everybody was gone when I arrived but I decided to stick around until I could figure out why I was there !"

RavioliKid

RavioliKid

CHARLIE