iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sequence of sawing

Started by appleseedtree, January 17, 2018, 09:04:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

appleseedtree

Hello Forum. I'm a pro arborist but a rookie sawyer. I've bought an old LT40 non hydraulic and so far just completed one project sawing 5 small locust logs. My current project is on the mill, an 18' x 36" pine log. I've been around it once to trim it up and I've  taken a few 1" boards off of it.   One of the most perplexing things to me is knowing when to saw another board off the top and when to roll the log. It's currently a 25 x 26" cant with rounded corners. I'm looking to get as many 2 x 12s as it will yield. I thought I'd make a couple of 12" wide cants and then make the boards. The top and bottom boards would have lots of wane but I guess I could trim that off. Question is, can I set the two 12" wide cants side by side and saw both of them at the same time or is it better to saw them one at a time?  Not sure if the guides would even allow a 24" cut.
Advice appreciated

ncsawyer

In my experience, when sawing your log down to the desired cant size, you want to end up with a cant that has equal amounts of sap wood on either side of the pith.  The sap wood is stronger than the heart wood, and boards tend to warp "toward" the sap wood or away from the pith, if that makes sense.

So on a 12 inch cant, you would want to mill flitches off of the top of the log until you get down to about 6 inches from the pith, then flip over and mill flitches off of the log until you get down to the 12 inch cant, resulting in a 12 inch cant with about 6 inches of sap wood on both sides of the pith.  This gives you the most stable cant, assuming the pith is centered in the log, and your lumber should stay good and straight.