iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Custom lumber sales

Started by CX3, August 01, 2018, 09:16:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CX3

I have a great market for my ties and flooring lumber. Even pallet if I want to mess with that. The problem is I can't seem to break into the custom thing. 

I saw a great product. Always square and true. I log for a living so I can come up with any tree around here. I advertise on CL as being able to saw anything. 

I quarter saw some great white oak boards and never got a call. 

It's all green lumber.  I think that is my problem?? 

Any advice on niche markets? 

John 3:16
You Better Believe It!

JB Griffin

Nope. 

Its tough around here, people have the nasty tendency to think that if they go directly to the sawmill lumber should be give to um.
2000 LT40hyd remote 33hp Kubota with 6gpm hyd unit, 150 Prentice, WM bms250, Suffolk dual tooth setter

Over 3.5million bdft sawn with a Baker Dominator.

nativewolf

We got custom orders by starting at the low end rather than the high end.  Fence boards (always best green, ie...green is good and more sought after), trailer decking, etc.  You need locals buying to get custom orders going.  Try advertising oak trailer decking on the CL truck and trailer section, stop by trailer shops, drop cards off with fence installers, horse people.  We get $9/bd for a  8bdft fence bd; $1.125/bdft for tie log quality stuff.  If you've got 16' oak that's sound it is an option.  Maybe I'm telling you something you already know but dropping off good fence board with horse people has opened up interesting conversations.  
Liking Walnut

CX3

Well I did have a call. He wanted 20 ft 2x10 white oak. Wanted to know if he could pick them up that day because he was putting a floor in his trailer. Missed that one lol
You Better Believe It!

SawyerTed