iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Skidder Dilemma

Started by SliverPicker, February 12, 2014, 01:25:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SliverPicker

I recently purchased a C5 from a guy in Michigan.  I was told it was a 1985 C5D.  Well, to make a long story short it turns out, after talking to John at  Davco in Maine the skidder is actually a 1976 or 1977 C5?. 

Is this grounds to try to retroactively negotiate the price? 
Yooper by trade.

mad murdock

Man that is a tough one!  If the negotiated price was set and agreed upon more by its manufactured year rather than condition of the machine as a whole, then it may be worth a try, IMO.  I gauge worth of older iron soley on condition machine, regardless of how old it is.  Kind of how aircraft are treated. Year of manufacture is a minor consideration. What matters is condition of the component parts, how much time on the engine since overhaul, %rubber left, trans and final drive condition, hydraulics condition and function, and winch status and operation. The year it was built is really a minor issue unless the seller is touting that as a reason to ask what he is asking, make sense?
Turbosawmill M6 (now M8) Warrior Ultra liteweight, Granberg Alaskan III, lots of saws-gas powered and human powered :D

SliverPicker

Makes sense.  The fact that the machine is a whole decade older than what it was sold as has me a bit concerned.  Parts availability is a big deal when your machine gets to be 40 years old. 
Yooper by trade.

Corley5

There's probably not much difference between a 1975 and 1985 C5  :)
Burnt Gunpowder is the Smell Of Freedom

mad murdock

Yeah parts availability will be very similar things didn't change a lot until they started putting a lot of electronics on machinery in the early 90s and beyond. The older tree farmers have always been component machines. Parts availability is pretty easy
Turbosawmill M6 (now M8) Warrior Ultra liteweight, Granberg Alaskan III, lots of saws-gas powered and human powered :D