iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

T&G, Woodmaster or Router table?

Started by OneWithWood, February 12, 2012, 11:46:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

OneWithWood

I need to make a few thousand feet of tongue & groove out of 4/4 tulip and 4/4 aspen for my basement remodel project.  I have the necessary moulding knives for my Woodmaster 718 and a jig I made for another project (not t&G) to support the boards.  I also have a Jessem routing table with a 3hp router.

The aspen will be used for the ceiling.  The tulip will be used for the walls and put up at a 45° angle. The basement currently has drywall that is coming out. I would rather not have to put in all the blocking it would take to run the tulip vertically and a horizontal orientation just seems boring.

I have never attempted t&g so I would appreciate any pointers anyone could provide.  The same goes for installing it. 
One With Wood
LT40HDG25, Woodmizer DH4000 Kiln

pineywoods

I have a woodmaster 718. Never had much luck making tongue and groove on it. Two problems...Feed problems, 3/4 inch is not much for feed rollers to grip on, you definitely need the slick plastic bed overlay. The biggest problem is accuracy. Even with the best of jigs, the feed stock gonna flop around a bit, can't keep the groove or tongue centered. I bought a used 3 hp shaper which works just fine, as would a good router table. A power feeder makes a big difference.
1995 Wood Mizer LT 40, Liquid cooled kawasaki,homebuilt hydraulics. Homebuilt solar dry kiln.  Woodmaster 718 planner, Kubota M4700 with homemade forks and winch, stihl  028, 029, Ms390
100k bd ft club.Charter member of The Grumpy old Men

bugdust