iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What would you put in a " hints " sheet

Started by Saki, January 31, 2005, 09:25:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Saki

Good monday evening. As I am just getting into this sawing business, the thought occurred to me that a " handy hints " or " fact " sheet might be handy for first time customers. Maybe something that would give them some ideas on how to, or not to handle/stack their logs for milling. Maybe include things like how bad dirt is on a saw blade, so its best to carry, or at least get one end free of the ground when skidding it out. Quarter sawn vs flat sawn. Things to think about when drying - same species for stickers, etc. How important it is for them to KNOW what they want cut, do they want full 2 inch stock, or cut to what finished framing material they get at the home depot will be. How a log cut to exactly 8 feet will genrally not yield 8 feet material when dry, etc. Share some of your ideas, and maybe even a bad experience with a difficult customer that might have been headed off by an info sheet. What do you folks think? Any merit to this?

Tom

In my Gung-ho days I made one of those up and found that the customers weren't interested in reading it. 

The best thing it did for me was prompt me as to what to talk with them about when I was "spec'ing" the job.

Those are some of the most important moment you will spend with a customer and talking with them, face to face, about what you do is a valuable marketing tool that you don't want to lose. (This is when they decide whether they like you or not)

The next best marketing time is the period while you are sawing. 

Approach the job with the idea that you are teaching them what to do this time so that they will know the second time.

If you smother your customer with paper work, rules, schedules, books, stuff that isn't important to them, then there is a good possibility that you will run them off.   It needs to be fun for them, not a career. :)