iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

First full day of Sawing

Started by etroup10, August 10, 2014, 12:18:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

etroup10

Well today was my first full day of sawing and I had a blast! I had gotten to run the mill a little bit after work this week but I still am learning a lot. I'm just milling beams for a log home company and taking off big slabs to make the beams in as few cuts as possible and avoid blue stain from the sapwood. We then make wood shavings out of the slabs at work so we aren't wasting much. I'm working by myself but have a skidloader which helps a lot with the big beams! The biggest ones I got today were 12"x12"x16'. Here are some pictures of my progress. I didn't get as many beams as I had hoped but I'm still learning and things were starting to get faster towards the end.

There was just a little bit of stress in this slab  :D But the beam was still good!!

I had a pretty good slab pile at the end of the day, which is all going to be made into wood shavings

NHLA 187th class, lumber inspector. EZ Boardwalk 40 with homemade hydraulics; Gafner Hydraloader; custom built edger, Massey Ferguson 50E, American Sawmill 20" Pony Planer; Husqvarna 55 Rancher

BCsaw

Looks like your coming along! Nice work.
Inspiration is the ability to "feel" what thousands of others can't!
Homebuilt Band Sawmill, Kioti 2510 Loader Backhoe

dgdrls

Well done Etroup10,

how about some pictures of the shaving mill??

Best
DGDrls

drobertson

You bet! getting a good rhythm is the main thing.  It just takes time and patience to get the flow, working part time has it's advantages, and disadvantages, but full day is a good way to make up ground. 
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

goose63

goose
if you find your self in a deep hole stop digging