iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

adding remote hydraulics to timberjack 230a to run a forwarding trailer?

Started by Sunrise Farms, March 19, 2016, 09:56:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sunrise Farms

Hi guys, I just bought a used primero log trailer and I'm trying to figure out how to hook it up to my skidder. It's an 84 timberjack 230a.
Can I just put a 'T' on both main hoses going into  and out of the hydraulic bank with quick disconnects? Then run a line to a valve from tractor supply I mount somewhere in the cab?

It makes sense to me, but I'm no hydraulic expert.

I'm also going to need some welding done for a hitch (removable).

Thanks guys!
'84 timberjack 230a
'96 Woodmizer Lt40hdd40
Primero 8 forwarding trailer

Knocker of rocks

Quote from: Sunrise Farms on March 19, 2016, 09:56:38 AM

Can I just put a 'T' on both main hoses going into  and out of the hydraulic bank with quick disconnects? Then run a line to a valve from tractor supply I mount somewhere in the cab?

You'll lose some to all your flow to either bank when doing work, because the fluid will choose to follow the easiest path.  Your best be is either a selector valve so you are either loader or skidder, or plumb out of a Power Beyond port in your skidders main valve bank. 

Using the power beyond depending on your configuration could require three hoses: pressure from PB, return, and continuation of PB.  A selector could use just two, pressure and return, but your pressure release in the valve must be appropriately sized for the pressure and volume of your machine.  You will also lose the ability to use loader and skidder hydraulics simultaneously.

Sunrise Farms

Ok, so I just looked at it. The two main hoses go into the bank, then there are the three functions. At the end there is one large plug. I'm going to assume that is the power beyond port.