iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Questions about potential first job?

Started by JoeyLowe, January 19, 2002, 07:24:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JoeyLowe

Hello again!

I have a couple more questions so please bear with me.  As mentioned in my previous posts, I'm new at this and as luck would have it, my marketing skills have landed me an opportunity that I'm a little unsure about.  I was contacted by a fellow who wanted me to saw a "couple of logs" for him.  I agreed to meet with him to discuss fees, etc. so off I go to his farm.  Imagine my surprize when I get there only to learn that "couple of logs" translates into around 300 uncut twenty year old pine trees.  

Turns out that this person inherited 100 acres of a tree farm from his father.  Unfortunately, he was left no money.  He told me that he had several loggers bid on the job and most offered him $8/ton for pulp wood and $26/ton for chip and saw.  All of these trees are straight, around 50' tall and a minimum of 12-15" diameter, with most up around 20" diameter.

I told him that I'm not a logger and have no interest in cutting down trees, but I may be interested in milling the lumber for him if we could work out the details.  He wants to maximize his profits since this is his inheritance.  Before contacting me, he went direct to several large commercial mills to see if they would buy the logs direct from him if he were to do his own logging.  He told me that all of the commerical mills told him they could not buy the logs directly from a landowner unless the landowner was a certified logger.

So here goes with my questions:

What laws affect a landowner's right to sell his lumber? (Texas)

Is it feasible for a small, beginning, inexperienced, part-time sawyer to even consider a job of this size given that I have adequate resources and bearing in mind that this whole project was began with the thoughts of keeping my father-in-law and sons busy?