iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

INITIAL THOUGHTS ON WOODLAND MILLS HM126

Started by RAYGYVER, October 22, 2018, 01:07:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RAYGYVER

Ok. This is my first mill. I am a mechanical designer, and have designed automation equipment. I currently design conveyor systems for the package sorting industry....so I have a pretty good point of view to make an initial review/first impressions.

1. Seems beefy. It is sturdy.

2. I like the aluminized coating over the steel track and other parts.

3. The factory set the blade tracking right, all I did was adjust the 25 ft-lbs on the tension handle and I was cutting.

4. The guide system is very nice, and easily adjusted. Easily replaceable guide blocks and guide bearings.

5. leveling feet are indispensable, I cannot believe some manufacturers charge extra for leveling feet. WM feet are heavy duty and work great.

6. 14 HP engine runs strong.

7. Controls are in the right spots.

8. Lube system is nice, tank looks bad @$$ to me.

9. Cant hook is really nice, the handle is fat and socket head cap screw shoulder bolts used should last a good long time.

10. Very nice hardware/lock nuts/bolts/washers.

11. Raise/lowering cable and pulley system is very nicely done and required very little adjustment.

12. 14 hp Engine is hard to start. No matter what combination of choke I use, it takes 5 or 6 pulls to get it to run. It'll sputter and spit a few times. Then suddenly it'll come to life. I wonder if the oil level switch has something to do with it. I thought at first it may have had some air in a fuel line. But after 4 or 5 starts that should have worked itself out by now.

13. The copper lube tube was cut too short and the angle was off. It was spitting water on the ground, totally missing the blade. Easy fix, I just re-bent the tube.