iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Kiln design

Started by rastis, April 15, 2019, 06:30:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rastis

I am looking to build a solar kiln based on the VT plans, but increase the size to 10x20 to fit the area it will be built in. Has this been done before? Any pros or cons with those dimensions? 

Jon1985

Newbie here, getting ready to build by kiln this weekend based on the same plans.  My understanding is you don't want the kiln to be 'to big' for the space you actually need.  If you are only planning to dry 200bdft at a time you dont want a kiln suitable for 1000bdft. The amount of bdft you can dry is 'supposedly' 10x more bdft the sqft of roof. EG: 6'x10' roof is 60 sqft, suitable to dry 600bdft.

As I said, newbie here.  No kilns built yet but lots of reading.

doc henderson

i would make it as big as you will ever want, to dry.  Oak goes slow so more can go in for the amount of heat, pine can go fast and the heat per board feet can be higher.  You can cover part of the collector for smaller loads of slower dried material.  i would do bigger as well, or long boards will not fit.  10 by 20 sounds good for a hobbyist.  for a small load, you close the vents to get the humidity up, or air dry so it will tolerate the lessor humidity.
Timber king 2000, 277c track loader, PJ 32 foot gooseneck, 1976 F700 state dump truck, JD 850 tractor.  2007 Chevy 3500HD dually, home built log splitter 18 horse 28 gpm with 5 inch cylinder and 32 inch split range with conveyor powered by a 12 volt tarp motor

doc henderson

There is a conference in Blacksburg VA in may at VA tech.  can search solar kiln on this forum.  in may.  @GeneWengert-WoodDoc

Drying and Processing / VT Solar Kiln Workshop 2019
 « by VTwood on March 27, 2019, 09:47:08 AM