iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Getting your feet wet

Started by BRP, November 25, 2002, 04:30:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BRP

This rainy Monday brings up a good topic.What do you guys do when the weather is wet.I'm talking about portable millers here not the ones under roof.
I personally do not mill in the rain,light mist or snow is o.k. Being a farmer I have learned to work with the weather not against it because it can't be changed anyway.So I find something else to do until mother nature says I can go out and play. :D
When I was working for the local mill(circle)we had to be in the rain.I remember a time me and a buddy went to fix a log loader in the POURING RAIN one of the pins came out so we put it back together and welded it in place.When done and in the truck my bud said "Good thing we didn't get electrocuted." He was right
I'm just rambling on since it's raining here and waiting for daylight.By the way ARKY looks like it's dry up your way,have fun and don't rub in in. :D :D :D :D :D

ARKANSAWYER

Dry and dark up here right now but looks like snow.  I have a roof at home to park under and have lots of work here to do.  I have a job on the road tomorrow and I may call him and see if I can do it today.  I bought a tractor with a cab so on really nasty days I can at least move logs around and saw under my roof.  It is days like this that make me think of a bigger roof.
ARKANSAWYER
ARKANSAWYER

Bibbyman

Once you've got a roof,  you'll want walls.  About half our sawshed is closed in but the wind sure does come through the half that's open.  It's not too bad on the offbearer as I can move to some protected spot out of the wind and dust at least part of the time. And I get enough exercise to keep warm.  

But poor Mary has to stand there and operate the Command Control.  Mostly she complains that her hands get cold. :(
Wood-Mizer LT40HDE25 Super 25hp 3ph with Command Control and Accuset.
Sawing since '94

ARKANSAWYER