iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Considering a career in Forestry.....

Started by BrandonTN, December 11, 2005, 03:05:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BrandonTN

Hello all!

I've been considering persuing forestry as a profession for a couple of years now, even though right now I am currently attending a graphic design school working for an associate degree.  I live in Nashville, TN, and I'm 24 years old.  I've previously done a little research on the forestry profession, but the interest is becoming stronger, and I'm seeking out information about it more and more these days. 
Working in a commercial printshop, and being around the graphic design work environment has  led me to believe if I stick soley w/ design, I will be not be satisfied/fullfilled.  I love the outdoors.  I've been an avid backpacker since I was 18, enjoying the Smoky Mountains here in TN.  I want a career that makes a positive impact on the world, in as many ways as possible.  In graphic design, sure, designing for people is a good thing, people have design needs, but in the long run does it make the world a better place?  The idea of taking care of the earth for future generations is something I want to be a part of.  In the back of my mind is always a voice saying:  "What are you doing to preserve the earth?  Which side are you on?"

The University of Tennessee at Knoxville has a Forestry program that I am interested in.  Tennessee is my home, and I'd like to study here if I can, and since the Smoky Mountains are nearby, I presume it must be a decent school to study Forestry at....am I wrong??

Some facts of who i am:
--After school, I'm willing to work virtually anywhere...I plan on traveling extensively for the sake of traveling one day anyway.
--Experiences are more important to me than money and materials.  As long as I have enough money to live comfortably(perhaps help support a family), and stay out of debt, I'll be satisfied.