iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sticker options/Drying Time/Staining

Started by hazazil, July 18, 2018, 08:26:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hazazil

So I'm new to milling. I had a pine log that was green that I made some stickers out of so I could start milling some oak logs I had. Stickers were 1" x 3/4".

I cut them, stacked them, left them outside a couple weeks to air dry. I had read that they would dry in a few days and be usable once cut.

I noticed on the oak slabs , wherever the stickers were, is a lighter color than the rest of the oak slab. Is this okay? Is that considered stained? How deep would that go?

I'm trying to find out what other options are for stickers if I do end up having to let the stickers dry longer because now I'm at a standstill as far as milling till I get this figured out.

I read some people have used pvc or some sort of plastic pipe for stickers. Seems though has to be schedule 80 and schedule 40 can't withstand all the weight.

Crusarius

I have toyed with the idea of getting some composite decking material and cutting that into stickers. Unfortunately that material is expensive So that is slowing me down a little.

Wish I had more information but I am in the same boat you are and like to hear from other ppl regarding this topic.

YellowHammer

What is the moisture content of the oak slabs?  You didn't mention how long they have been air drying or if they were under cover.  

There are a few reasons stickers can leave a light stripe. A photo would help but generally if a sticker leaves a white streak it is a little too dry relative to the wood it has contact with. It absorbs moisture out of the donor boards and dries at a different rate.

Another reason is oxidation due to exposure and ultraviolet light. The stickers block this. This usually happens on the top boards and is seen more readily in some species more than others, such as cherry.