iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

More Observations from a New Sawyer

Started by SawyerTed, October 14, 2018, 08:48:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SawyerTed

Just a few more thoughts from a new sawyer about this hobby/business.  I'm far from an expert but am beginning to see the possibility that I will eventually live up to the title of "sawyer."  In no specific order....

1. A portable sawyer requires a good truck.
2. Portable sawmilling is hard on a truck.
3. Blade storage and management requires forethought.  
4. You don't know what's involved with blade management and storage until you have to.  It's a "Catch 22"
5. A new sawyer doesn't know what he doesn't know
6. No matter how much a new mill owner wants to, leave the walnut log until you've sawed several hundred board feet. (See #5)
7. Some wood just will not behave after being cut no matter what.
8. It's hard to get too much help at the mill,  it is hard when you have too little help.  
9.  There's a difference between being a sawyer and a machine operator.  You must think differently to become a sawyer. 
10.  Every log is different, a sawyer learns why and saws accordingly.
11.  A machine operator will produce a lot of material for the fire pit, stove or burn pile.  A sawyer not so much.
12.  Look at free logs with a jaundiced eye.  There's usually a catch.
13.  Your business model/plan needs to be flexible - follow the market as necessary.
14.  Learn to instruct helpers on safety and efficient off bearing.
15.  Teaching proper stacking and stickering requires persistence and patience.  
16.  Customers require education sometimes - they sometimes want 2x10s from 10" logs.
17.  Don't under estimate the value of your labor.
18.  Get a bigger truck/sign/tractor/shed
19.  When you plan your sawmill shed, plan what you think.  Then double that.
20.  When you build your sawmill shed, go ahead and grade the site for the addition.
21.  Good gloves are consumable, nobody wears crummie gloves so they last forever.