iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Some tips for using epoxy

Started by Brad_bb, February 16, 2017, 04:30:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brad_bb

I'm no expert, but I've been using West Systems Epoxy for more than a year now and here's what I've learned. I haven't gotten into the colored or fluorescent stuff yet...Just clear so far.

1. I use the green 3m automotive masking tape.  It works pretty well.  It's all about the adhesive.  I'll say that it's not perfect as occasionally I'll get a leak.  Actually I should try to find an even stronger adhesive.  Automotive is strong but designed to be removed and not leave residue.  The stronger you get, the more likely to leave residue.  That's probably ok for the wood cause we'll be sanding anyway. 
2. If you have a check that goes to the end of the timber you need to block it so it can't run out the end.  Cut the end so you have a smooth surface to tape to. If you have a rough chain sawed type surface, your tape won't seal properly.  Sometimes I'll pack the end of the check with paper towel bits and then tape the end thoroughly.  I'll have left enough board length knowing that I will have some paper towel in the end and will need to trim it off. 
3.  Also when you are taping a vertical surface, start at the bottom with first piece of tape and work up.  I've had more success that way. 
4.  If you are filling a large void or an end check, start using a fast hardener and only use  enough mixed epoxy to seal up the bottom of the void or the end of the check.  The goal is to seal up the places there epoxy would run out had you just decided to fill the void in one shot.  You're creating a sealing coat.