iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What is the best portable sawmill available for under $3000?

Started by titanscout, December 31, 2008, 08:31:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

titanscout

I'm just getting started on a log cabin project and would like to have a faster alternative to squaring the logs off than an adze or just a chainsaw. Thanks for your advice.

Dan_Shade

Having been there and done that, I have to say there isn't one :(

Where are you located?  You might be able to find something used that's pretty reasonable.
Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

thecfarm

Don't know your finances,but that will only buy a used one,maybe.Have to look at it a diffeant way.If you spend $5000 how much time,work. and money will you save?Welcome to the forum.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

titanscout

Thanks for the welcome. I'm just outside of Springfield, TN. Ok, what can I get for $5000? I knew there must be a starting price, just didn't know what it was. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

thecfarm

I kinda meant a used one.But a Wood Mizer LT15 can be bought for $6000 new.Check out the Norwood site too.They are both on the left hand side as sponsors.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

titanscout

Have you heard of or know of anyone who has a "Lumbersmith"? You can see it at www.lumbersmith.com. The price for the mill and the engine needed(sold separately) would be around $2000, but it may be a piece of crap and I don't want to waste $2K if it is. I would rather put that $2K to something that you guys would recommend.

Dan_Shade