iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

info/ advice on small grapple loaders for one man operation.

Started by shadpeters, June 15, 2016, 11:11:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shadpeters

Hello there! I have been scouring the internet and while I have found lots of useful information, I am hoping that I can get some people with experience to weigh in to my specific situation.

First off a little background info: I have a very small milling operation, but I handle almost exclusivly very large logs. I have been building guitars for about 10 years and thats how I got into milling lumber was by looking for trees that would be valuable for instruments. I mainly look for trees that will have lots of figure, or some type of unique character that makes them desirable for instruments, or for items that would make good bowl blanks and live edge slabs. I am very particular about the logs that I take becuase I have to make it worth my while, but usually the best logs are large, mostly 36" diameter and up and hard difficult to handle. They are also almost exclusively in urban environments.

for a small operation handling these large logs is a pain, I have a couple tractors to use at the mill, but only one big enough to handle the large stuff, and it struggles at times. additionally taking a tractor to pick up one log,  loading the log, leaving the tractor, going back to the mill with no easy way to unload the log, and then going back for the tractor is not practical, not to mention just not possible in some situations. I have been dreaming of getting grapple trailer of some kind for a while. I first saw the wallanstein trailers a while back, but the loader capacity is laughable. I've looked at metavic, hardy, and bailey's loaders, and they have descent capacity, but are still not really able to handle the really big pieces that I want to be able to handle.  The cost is also somewhat prohibitive for a one man show like I've got going on.