iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Red Maple Bedroom Suite *Update

Started by DWyatt, April 29, 2019, 08:35:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DWyatt

I am in the process of building a 6 piece bedroom suite for the secretary at work and her husband. This is my first project in MY shop which is an amazing feeling! This will be a continuing thread since I'm building it in phases. This weekend I got the headboard finished up and ready for final touch up sanding and stain and finish. *No fasteners were harmed in the making of this headboard* :D

Dad and I cut the tree down on his property and it was the first one I cut on my mill and first load through the kiln with the new Nyle L53 set up. This stuff is beautiful!  8)

And here's one that shows a bit more of the detail.

This is my first real project for my side business I'm trying to start so I'm trying to document it better with pictures.

barbender

Wow!! That is beautiful👍👍
Too many irons in the fire

DWyatt

Thanks @beenthere for the PM. 

I should have noted:

The lower area where i made the tongue and groove boards to mimic bead board type paneling. All of the pieces sit in a groove, top and bottom, I glued all of the vertical pieces together and only glued the middle 2 pieces to the horizontal stretchers. This allows for movement of the pieces in the horizontal direction (into recessed grooves that are cut into the legs). I hope that makes sense, otherwise with something as wide as a California King headboard, you would get huge splits.

The top panels are free floating inside the frame that boarders them, with those little rubber balls providing spacing to keep everything tight. I learned the hard way about expansion and contraction of wood on one of my first woodworking projects, it ended with a big split. Luckily it's just in my house.

Crusarius

That is some beautiful maple. 

hacknchop

Beautiful work I will be checking as you add to it. smiley_clapping
Often wrong never indoubt

Hilltop366

WDH