iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sawyer-to-be

Started by Shawn, October 27, 2005, 10:58:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shawn

Hello all! Thank you for this forum! As a long time Woodworker I'm looking to build my own mill. I don't want to make a living from it, I'll leave that to the professionals. I would like my mill to pay for itself and provide me with years of lumber,  then I'd be happy. I'm looking for some tips, links, advice on building a mill. I have seen many home-made sawmills online & must admit that with a coat of paint, they look like the Manufactured machines. I'm looking for a capacity for about a 8 Ft log, about 30" in dia. I have a couple trees that would make great kitchen cabinets in my home. Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated.
Shawn...
Brownstown, MI
Change is part of the design process.

Admit nothing, Deny everything, Make counter-accusations

Radar67

Shawn, Welcome to the forum.

You will find a lot of good information here. The search feature is awesome, just about anything you need to know in the archives. Good luck with your project.

Stew
"A man's time is the most valuable gift he can give another." TOM

If he can cling to his Blackberry, I can cling to my guns... Me

This will kill you, that will kill you, heck...life will kill you, but you got to live it!

"The man who can comprehend the why, can create the how." SFC J

woodbowl

You can use the search at the top of the toolbar to find almost anything. Here are a couple. Welcome to the forum.

https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php?topic=11591.0 https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php?topic=13729.0
Full time custom sawing at the customers site since 1995.  WoodMizer LT40 Super Hyd.

DanG

Welcome aboard!  Here's your first tip:  Don't restrict yourself to only 8 feet.  What happens when someone gives you a 10 foot log?  You don't want to lop 2 feet off and send it to the stove.  At least make it expandable.