iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Small diameter timber projects

Started by Nora, September 28, 2006, 05:11:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nora

Smallwood News is collecting stories about small diameter timber projects to put online. So far, all of the projects we have photos for are in Montana, and we'd like to hear about what folks are doing around the US and Canada. If you have photos and text, I'd like to add information about your project to Smallwood News. Please include contact information.

Our project was started because of all the wildfires in Montana. Although we need to give credit to the many farsighted folk that were discussing the problem of fuels reduction before the fires, the fires made the funding possible!

Nora

Smallwood News
http://smallwoodnews.com
nora@smallwoodnews.com

Bill

Nora

Welcome to the FF.

Hope you find it helpful  . . . 

Nora

Thanks, Bill!

I'm actually new to the forestry industry (my background is computer science), but I'm certainly finding it interesting! A couple of weeks ago I had a chance to go out into the woods and watch a new roll on system that is being developed to get better use from the trucks hauling logs and residue out of the woods. It was incredible to watch a hydraulic lift pull a fully loaded log bunk attachment up onto both a truck and a trailer. Since I'm the geek here, I get to put the pictures up on our web site.

By the way, my apologies to everyone who got to the wrong site through my last post. I've been working on a new site for our organization, and I typed in the other address.  The corrected address for Smallwood News. We are still looking for smallwood projects to feature. And, we will be needing usability testers for the new site, if anyone is interested.

Nora

Ed_K

Is there a chance you have more pictures of the roll on bunks? My dial up is way to slow to load the slide show.
Ed K

Tom

Nora,