iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Accuset “auto down”

Started by Willxm80, August 12, 2019, 09:21:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Willxm80

Hello all.  I am relatively new at milling and own an 06 LT40 Super with Accuset 1.  I'm in the process of milling timbers for a rather large timber frame barn and having a little difficulty maximizing efficiency using the Accuset, specifically when using the "auto down" function.  I find myself using the auto down function to  make drops for boards boards as  I am making timbers.  The issue is that after I make a pass, I have to use "auto up" to raise the head to clear the log/cant on the return. I then enter auto down and tap the switch down twice to get to the next pass.

My questions are: when in auto down should I need to enter auto up to get the head to raise?  Is there a more efficient control sequence to make passes. (Cut, raise head, return, drop to next cut height, repeat)? It would be idea if I could stay in auto down and have the ability to raise the head at the end of the cut to clear the log/cant, and then hit the down lever and have the blade drop to the appropriate height.  My mill doesn't seem to allow me to raise the head when in auto down.

jmouton

it hard to say ours is an 18 lt-40 accuset 2 ,   but ours you just go up and back then hit auto down , maybe something is wrong with your lever to go up,,,  just my 2 cents worth 
lt-40 wide ,,bobcat,sterling tandem flatbed log truck,10 ton trailer, stihl 075,041,029,066,and a 2017 f-350,oh and an edger

YellowHammer

I agree, with Accuset 2, I almost never used auto up.  In any mode, auto up, auto down, pattern mode, you should be able to override by just hitting the up/down lever and go to where you want.  

So in auto down mode, you should be able to make a cut, raise the head manually to clear the log where ever you want by hitting the up lever, then bring the head back, hit the down lever (still in auto drown mode)  and it should just make the next drop.