iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Winch issues

Started by wbrent, December 08, 2018, 04:34:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wbrent

So I'm new to this for the most part. Recently bought a sawmill. Then an old tractor. Inherited a very old tractor winch. Been sitting for close to 10 years. As far as I know it worked fine when it was last used. And I have memories of using it with my father years ago. I think it's a Farmi but not positive. It's orange anyway. A rope is supposed to engage the cable and pull the log.theres another short rope that looks like it locks the winch.  Here's my issue. When I connect the pto I can not pull the cable out. Seems the clutch is stuck in. (Is there a clutch?) As an experiment I unhooked the pto, and then was able to pull the cable out. I then hooked the pto back up. As soon as I engaged the pto the winch starting winding up. So what's stuck?  Any easy way to get it unstuck. I thought I'd spray pb blaster everywhere for a few days before entertaining taking things apart. Looks like most of the bolts are not going to come easy. Heat will probably be needed. Any thought. Be gentle. Remember I'm new. And only moderately mechanical. Don't even know how a clutch works. Thanks.

47sawdust

I would try to identify the winch's mfg.,then see if  a parts/service manual is available.If you post a picture of your winch we might be able to help identify the winch.If it has been sitting for 10 years rust has come to visit.
You might try going through the free spool/pull cycle a number of times to see if it helps.Be careful spraying the components as you don't want to compromise the the winch's braking mechanism.
Where are you located?
Mick
1997 WM Lt30 1999 WM twin blade edger Kubota L3750 Tajfun winchGood Health Work is my hobby.

wbrent

I'm in New Brunswick Canada. My young son says the unit is a farmi JL 400. Can't find anything about it online.

wbrent

Oops. Sticker says Normet. Model JL400

Puffergas