iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What color is your tape measure

Started by Novascotiamill, August 01, 2018, 02:41:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Novascotiamill

I bought a couple of arange lufkin 25ft tape measures the other day on sale for 6 bucks. Thought these would not becoome part of the woodwork. i was wrong they just happen to be the same color as my tractor,saw,safety helmet etc etc. Everytime I set one down the tape measure gremlin hides it. Think I need a beeper on it.
2017 HM130
Stihl 261
2010 F150 xtr
Lots of rigid genx5 tools
1 long haired german shepherd
2017 kioti ck2610HST with FEL and forks
Grindlux band sharpener
Wicked 55" root rake grapple
O

SawyerTed

At the mill I use a silver Stanley 25' tape.  I prefer the metal case on a tape measure.  My sawmill tape stays in a magnetic mechanic's tray on the box that has the up-down assembly.

When I'm measuring and marking/cutting logs, I have a 50' logger's tape on my belt.

I'm a retired industrial arts teacher.  For me, tools need a place and they need to be put back every time.  If I used orange tape measures, they would blend in too! 

Maybe neon green would be better.
Woodmizer LT50, WM BMS 250, WM BMT 250, Kubota MX5100, IH McCormick Farmall 140, Husqvarna 372XP, Husqvarna 455 Rancher

rjwoelk

Black and orange are no better, we have a neon orange no good, i like the beeper idea. :DI can use set it down, turn my back and it will be come invisable. Spend more time looking than using some days, smiley_huh unless I have the carpentor apron on and stick it in the pocket, The trouble with that is the aparon keeps dropping lower and lower and soon I feel like those kids with their pants below their buts  :embarassed:
Lt15 palax wood processor,3020 JD 7120 CIH 36x72 hay shed for workshop coop tractor with a duetz for power plant

Satamax

Quote from: SawyerTed on August 01, 2018, 03:50:22 PM