iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Making a Bombardier log skidder

Started by Sliver, August 03, 2009, 02:07:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sliver

Hello all,
Brand new to the forum. (please be gentle) :o
I am attempting to put together a logskidder of sorts. I have an old Bombardier sw48 similar to what spruce bunny has.  The biggest issue that I need to overcome is hooking up a hydraulic system. It has a limited system already in place but it has a low flow rate.(belt driven pump and small lines). My question to everyone is what would be the best way to rig up a hydraulic pump? ???  It has a chrysler flathead six industrial engine with a three speed transmission. I have a 20ton tulsa winch out of a wrecker that I want to hang off the back of it ,weld up a small arch and call it a cable skidder 8)I was thinking of bolting a flange and driveshaft on to the fanbelt pulley and mounting the hydraulic pump externally. Any suggestions or insights would be greatly appreciated. I will post some pics as soon as I figure out how.  thanks 

jason.weir

Mount the hydraulic pump right to the front of the crankshaft..

Use a flexible coupler between the crank pulley and the pump shaft and you'll have plenty of hydraulic power.

-Jason

Sliver

Thanks Jason,
Thats what I meant( crank pulley).By flexible coupler did you mean a u-joint?. What do suggest for a flange to attach it to the pully? Is there an easy way to make one?

jason.weir

a u-joint drive shaft would work - I was referring to a LoveJoy coupler

http://www.lovejoy-inc.com/content.aspx?id=206

I'd make a bolt on flange that uses the existing pulley bolt pattern so it would not affect anything you already have.

mount the pulley solid to something and run the drive shaft or coupler between them.. 

Sounds like fun..  I bet that thing goes good in the snow\mud

-J

isawlogs

Are you sure the pump wont run the winch ???
A man does not always grow wise as he grows old , but he always grows old as he grows wise .

Marcel