iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New to sawing and new to this forum...

Started by Mesquite Man, October 21, 2002, 07:33:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mesquite Man

Hello everyone,

I have been posting a little over at the woodweb site and decided to join here.  I am totally new to the world of sawmilling.  I actually do not even have a mill yet but it is on it's way.  I ordered a TimberKing1220 mill last week and hope to have it in a couple of weeks.

My interest in becoming a sawyer is simply to saw for my own use as a hobby.  I have always had a real interest in wood and have always wanted to work with a saw mill so I bought one!

I have about 1,000 bf of mesquite waiting to be cut as soon as the mill gets here.  I also have a nice black walnut log which is not common in this part of Texas.

Does anyone have any good words of adice for me before I get my mill and jump right in?  I am sure I will have lots of questions and thank you all in advance.

Curtis Seebeck
"Mesquite Man"
Curtis O. Seebeck
TimberKing 1220

Kevin

QuoteDoes anyone have any good words of adice for me

Lock the head down and don`t saw the dogs.   :D

Welcome to the abuse.   ;D

DanG

Hi Curtis! Welcome to THE ForestryForum.

Before you get your mill and jump right in, my advice is to get your mill and jump right in. ::)  Read all the stuff here, and over at the other place, too. Keep the saltshaker handy, though. The names will become familiar to you, and you will soon learn who to listen to. We have a small, but solid group of folks here, who make every effort to not steer anyone wrong. I, personally, am here to gain knowledge, and entertain myself until I can get my milling business under way. The best I can offer the forum is a few generic comments, a little humor(very little, I'm afraid), and a term to sling around when one is frustrated or amazed. Oh yeah, and I'm pretty good at giving advice to newbies, since I seem to be a perpetual newbie, myself.

;) ;) :D