iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

smaller bandmills

Started by bgautsch, November 10, 2002, 08:40:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bgautsch

Greetings everyone,

As a new registered member, I wish ask for input on the pros and cons of the Woodmizer LT 15 and Timberking 1220.  I have a small part time shop and am interested in sawing for furniture wood, slabs for bookmatching grain patterns and slicing up stumps and crotchwood.  I have sources for short logs under 4 feet.

Technical experiences, good and not so good would be appreciated.
bgautsch

Mesquite Man

I am very new to saw milling myself.  I just took delivery of my new TimberKing 1220 on Thursday.  This is the first mill I have every owned.  I did a lot of research before buying and I decided on the TK 1220.  Both are EXCE#LLENT mills but I prefered the TK.  Here is why...

TK has a larger throat than the WM
TK will cut a larger diameter log than WM
TK will cut a longer log then WM
TK has larger standard engine than WM
TK uses an aircraft grade cable to move the carriage.  WM uses a rope.
TK has a 2 yr warranty.
Besides, red and black looks better than orange:)

So far I am really impressed and pleased with my TK.

Sitruc
"Mesquite Man"
Curtis O. Seebeck
TimberKing 1220

ADfields

The drowback I see in the Woodmizer LT-15 is the feed crank.   If I was to go with a Woodmizer I would want one with the cantilevered head on it, to me that is what sets Woodmizer apart from the others with 2 tracks.   I had to go for the $5500 mark also but I got an MSG 250E bi-directional mill and I do love it.  It cuts both ways and I can slab a log up and not move the slabs till it's all done just by cuting  the other way right under the slab I just cut.  ;D   At the $5500 price you get a lot of stuff on it stock, 13 hp Honda, auto cuting fluid and things not on others.   The one thing I dont like is the hand crank on the head up/down, when your at the botom after cuting a log it's a long crank back up for the next log.
Andy