iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

forestry technician job advice

Started by jlc123, September 18, 2014, 01:54:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

beenthere

south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

SliverPicker

Piece of pie!  Way to stick it out!!!!
Yooper by trade.

ST Ranch

Good to hear that it is working out. And yes, never leave home without a paper map and your trusty compass. I hope the weather changes for you soon as working in the Okanagan in the fall is beautiful, once the Larch start to turn color.
Tom
LT40G28 with mods,  Komatsu D37E crawler,
873 Bobcat with CWS log grapple,

jlc123

well hello everyone! I havent posted in a while, so thought I would give an update. The job has been pretty good and I am enjoying most days. The winter season is fast approaching, we were in about 6" of snow today... was not prepared for that at all... so much snow down the back of my neck... yuck...

Anyways, a few weeks ago I had asked to stay on for the winter season, but hadnt heard anything back on it. Today I was told I will probably get to stay on for winter, if they get a certain contract... This contractor is super picky so my bosses only put the most efficient people on those blocks... It was a huge confidence booster to hear that I am being considered for this. I have heard from other workers that they only put the best workers on that contract  8)  it was a really good feeling being recognized for my work and I am glad they can see how hard I am trying to learn everything.

Im not sure if I want to stick out the winter though, I will grab some better gear tomorrow and see how the rest of the week goes. An indoor labor job might be nice for the cold months, but I will definitely be back for the spring. No bear sightings, only rabbits and squirrels... I did hear elk calls one day though... cool beans!

jlc123