iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need help identifying wood by bark

Started by CTwoodsman, March 27, 2018, 09:20:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CTwoodsman

Hi all. Great forum.

I was looking for help in identifying  a piece of wood. I'm sure it will be simple for some but I'm still learning. Thanks

Weekend_Sawyer

Looks like Virginia pine at first glance.
but that's a little north for it.
what do the needles look like?

Jon
Imagine, Me a Tree Farmer.
Jon, Appalachian American Wannabe.

isawlogs

It looks like scotch pine or red pine to me.
A man does not always grow wise as he grows old , but he always grows old as he grows wise .

Marcel

CTwoodsman

Never saw any needles, it was dropped off in log form

If it's pine, that's enough info for me. Embarrassed to admit that I was trying to find maple. I know I have some in my pile. Thanks for the help

Ianab

Should be able to ID "pine" by it's smell, pretty distinctive, or at least completely different to any hardwood I've even smelt. 
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

isawlogs

Can you get a pic of the end grain???
A man does not always grow wise as he grows old , but he always grows old as he grows wise .

Marcel

CTwoodsman

SwampDonkey

Bark looks like our local black cherry bark to me. The ends should darken up as they oxidize. Split off a slab, should go pinkish in away from the sapwood. Any sign of black gum or jelly like gum in the bark? Sometimes they get burl growths from black knot disease.
"No amount of belief makes something a fact." James Randi

1 Thessalonians 5:21

2020 Polaris Ranger 570 to forward firewood, Husqvarna 555 XT Pro, Stihl FS560 clearing saw and continuously thinning my ground, on the side. Grow them trees. (((o)))

DPatton

I'm no seasoned pro at identifying wood species from the bark so take my input with a grain of salt.