iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cutting Cookies

Started by wng-2, April 22, 2017, 04:09:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wng-2

Hi guys, I know this has probably been discussed plenty. I'm still a novice sawyer, and I've been asked by a friend to cut some 2" cookies to be used on the tables at a  wedding. I have a Woodmizer LT 15, and I'm looking for a picture of a simple jig. I did do a search for cookies, but didn't really find what I was looking for. If somebody could point me to a link, I would appreciate it. Thanks very much.
Rich
Berwick,Maine
Woodmizer LT-15
Kubota L-4400

DDW_OR

do the cookies need to have a live edge with bark?
use a table saw, radio arm saw, or chop saw.

are the wood cookies be used as coasters?
"let the machines do the work"

wng-2

They need to be about 15" diameter, and 2" thick. The mill will do the nicest job. I just need a way to secure the wood.
Rich
Berwick,Maine
Woodmizer LT-15
Kubota L-4400

Percy

Im a lousy splainer but here goes.....put a 6 x 6 or reasonable substitute against backstops. then a piece of 2x12(you said your cookies need to be 15 inches)flat on the bunks beside 6x6. Set your cookie log on the 2 x 12 and clamp/cut carefully. You coild screw a couple of 2x4 blocks on the side of the 6x6 to help keep the cookie log secure....
GOLDEN RULE : The guy with the gold, makes the rules.

Magicman

I wedge it in as best I can and clamp it knowing that the bottom ~6" will not get sawn, but the ladies like them too.  This one drove up while I was about to finish sawing another job.

They are seen within the stacks here.  This was one happy lady, especially when I told her "no charge".
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

paul case