iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Makita chain mortiser tips and tricks

Started by Lennyzx11, November 29, 2022, 12:18:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lennyzx11

After using my new to me chain mortiser for the first 20 or so holes, I've started learning things that make it go easier for me. 
I did see some older threads and some videos posted here and there but those seem more to the basic operation. This thread is more for how to be better, safer, more productive with the thing. 

Please feel free to add links to past threads (I'm not good at that kinda thing). And correct me for dumb ideas.

1. As said over and over. The natural  tendency to pick it up for moving to and from the timber by the two black operating handles should be broken consciously. The trigger located under the handle is perfect to start it by accident. Pick it up by the top handle and bottom crossbar. 
Get in the habit of unplugging it before setting it on and off the timber. Nuff said.

2. The "0" indicator and the front edge of the yellow marker indicate where to align it for initial setup. Add another sharpie mark at the rear of the yellow tab to show where the rear of the chain is cutting. 
But wait... there's more. Add another mark on the frame to show where the opposite end of the chain cuts in position 3 (like another "0" reference from that end). Then add yet another on the frame to show where the front line is (like the yellow tab front edge but opposite end. 
3. By accident I discovered that you can "ratchet" from position 1-3 just by tilting. No holding the left lock needed. Just tilt to the next once raised and locked up with right trigger. This works good to clean out the bottom of a blind mortise. 
Sequence of operation is to drop/cut into position 1,2,3 ratcheting when you raise up to the next. Then return to position one, drop with chain running and sweep sideways through 1,2,3. This cleans the humps in bottom of hole. Then push lever 2 and start all over.